Greetings! A refrigeration/EMS guy is here to learn something new

Hello!

My name is Mike and I apologize if this is the wrong forum for this, but I didn’t see another more applicable. I feel the need to introduce myself because I am sure I will be asking you fine folks questions rather frequently as I struggle to make my T3-TB into the box that I want it to be.

I’m a refrigeration service engineer by trade on the east coast of the USA with 13 years in the industry doing supermarket refrigeration & EMS. I primarily deal with Danfoss equipment and have become very proficient at it. I’ve worked extensively on everything from the Z-panel to the 880 doing service work and control overlays. I know my way around a building controller, but I’ve never had to build the logic from scratch.

Danfoss makes good equipment, but it’s expensive. I have many smaller customers (restaurants, churches, etc.) who have walk-in boxes and other equipment that they would like to have monitored for temperature alarms, but giving them a price of $3k+ to install an 880 and the necessary boards is simply cost prohibitive. In addition, not everything I’d like to control comes as a built-in feature. Some things still be need to be run from custom ‘calculations’ as they are referred to by Danfoss.

When I stumbled across the T3000 controller, I got excited! I had found what appeared to be a very capable little controller for a very reasonable price. Four-days later it’s hooked up and reading a 10k sensor on my desk! It’s not much, but it’s a start.

My current vision for the box is for it to be a walk-in controller capable of emailing temperature alarms using a tablet PC as the front end so the owner can have a nice little visual display and so the service tech doesn’t need a laptop to change set points (the vast majority of techs are not sophisticated enough to deal with this sort of thing).